What Is the Punishment for First DUI in California?

What Is the Punishment for First DUI in California?

California law doesn't go easy on first-offense DUI convictions because it takes driver safety seriously. This is important to note.

Generally, first-time offenders will get a misdemeanor DUI in California. However, punishments can range from fines of $390 to $1,000, up to five years of probation, and other penalty assessments.

A first DUI charge can lead to a sentence that also includes:

  • Installing an interlock device
  • A driver's license suspension of at least four months
  • DUI school

Those convicted should hire an attorney to reduce the risk of facing more consequences. They can also answer questions like what is a chemical test for DUI?

A Single Mistake With Significant Consequences

A Single Mistake With Significant Consequences

There is often a familiar story associated with drunk driving. After a few drinks, one gets behind the wheel. Soon, they're facing their first DUI charge. They begin panicking as soon as they realize how bad the situation is.

Usually, people ask themselves these questions:

  • What happens now?
  • How much will everything cost?
  • Will they lose their driver's license?

The answers lie in the legal defense provided. DUI attorneys can help offenders understand the law and their rights. While the road ahead won't be easy, it's possible to overcome the unpleasant event and move forward into the light. They can also answer questions such as what is the punishment for 2nd DUI in California?

Understand California DUI Charges

If the police pull someone over for a DUI, the first step is to undergo a breathalyzer and field sobriety test (FST). In California, a blood alcohol content level of .08 or higher is considered impaired.

DUI offenders that are charged will likely face administrative and criminal penalties. What does this mean?

In the administrative area, the DMV might consider license suspension for up to four months. However, it's possible to request a hearing to challenge this within 10 days of the arrest.

On the criminal side, a first-offense DUI can lead to:

  • DUI probation
  • Fines
  • DUI classes
  • Potential jail time

Then, if the same offender gets a second DUI within 10 years, the DMV suspension after the arrest is 1 year, and the court-ordered suspension on conviction is 2 years.

Request a DMV Hearing

Scheduling a DMV hearing allows the offender's case to be reviewed impartially for the actions taken against them. It's essential to request this within 10 days of receiving the notice of license suspension, which is usually handed to the driver on the date of the arrest. Call the DMV or a lawyer right away.

Likewise, it's important to respond during the 10-day period. Otherwise, the offender forfeits their right to a hearing.

Typically, an administrative hearing at the DMV allows the offender to tell their story or provide testimony regarding their driving privileges. Remember that the court and the Department of Motor Vehicles offer separate sentences.

The Charged Person's Rights After a DMV Hearing

During a DMV hearing, one is allowed to exercise their rights. These include:

  • Reviewing evidence
  • Having a lawyer present (at the offender's expense)
  • Taking the stand on their own behalf
  • Subpoenaing witnesses and other parties for documentation
  • Cross-examining opposing witnesses
  • Receiving a complete and fair consideration of the facts
  • Introducing evidence to support the claim
  • Filing for departmental reviews or judicial appeals after a negative decision

Review Any Discovery Evidence

The attorney will request to review copies of the evidence collected. They can either send a written letter or call the DMV. This must be done within 10 days before the hearing.

Many times, the DMV automatically sends the discovery evidence.

One can forfeit their right to a hearing. However, this includes not reviewing any evidence the DMV uses to decide the first-time DUI case.

Schedule a Court Arraignment for the DUI Case

Generally, the first court date is the scheduled arraignment. That is where the offender will plead guilty or not guilty. The arraignment usually comes after the 10-day deadline to request a DMV hearing, so the DMV hearing should be requested well before then.

Before the arraignment date, it's best to hire an attorney who understands DUI defenses. They will review any evidence, ensure the proper procedures were used, and try to get any charges dismissed or reduced.

The DUI Arrest and Booking Process

Once a police officer pulls a person over for a DUI offense, the arrest process starts. Here are the steps the cop will take:

The Field Sobriety Test and Breathalyzer

Usually, the officer will conduct a field sobriety test (FST) to check the driver's motor skills and coordination. The breathalyzer measures the person's blood alcohol content, which also records the impairment level.

While the breathalyzer can quantitatively measure BAC levels, the FST tests physical and cognitive dysfunction. Typically, this option is helpful when a defendant is under the influence of anything other than alcohol.

FSTs test balance, mental cognizance, and driver coordination. They're performed on the side of the road after a DUI traffic stop. Common assessments include one-leg stands (OLS), horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN), and walk-and-turn (WAT).

The defendant isn't obligated to take a field sobriety test. The roadside preliminary breath test (PAS) is also voluntary for drivers 21 and over who are not on probation. However, the officer can still arrest them based on observation.

The post-arrest chemical test is different. After a lawful DUI arrest, refusing a breath or blood test triggers a license suspension of 1 year for a first offense. Even if the courts don't convict for a DUI, this will generally happen. Therefore, it's wise to be polite with police officers, decline to answer questions, and take the required post-arrest chemical test.

Being Handcuffed and Riding in the Police Car

Once the officer handcuffs the person and puts them in the back of the police car, they will often search the offender's vehicle and have it impounded or towed. This is the beginning of the DUI arrest process.

Getting Booked at the Police Station

At the police station, the cops will take the person's personal information, fingerprints, and photographs. Legally, they can confiscate any belongings. However, under Penal Code 851.5, the offender has the right to make at least three free local phone calls (for example, to an attorney, a bail agent, and a relative), right after booking and within three hours of arrest.

Being in the Holding Cell

After being booked, the offender is put in a holding cell. They could post bail, or wait to see the magistrate judge the next morning for an arraignment. It's wise to be patient during this phase because it could take four to six hours.

Getting arrested for DUI is frightening and stressful. Still, offenders should remain cooperative and calm throughout the ordeal. Politeness is essential, but it's also best to avoid speaking as much as possible. Hire a Sacramento DUI lawyer immediately.

Hiring a DUI Defense Attorney

DUI charges aren't something one should take lightly. After the police have released the person from custody, they should focus on hiring an experienced DUI defense lawyer if they didn't do so while in the holding cell.

Research Options

It's best for the offender to search online for lawyers in their area to ensure they have help reducing or dismissing their DUI charge. The attorney should have a successful record and usually offers a free consultation to discuss the case and determine what they can do to assist. Here are a few tips for choosing a professional:

  • Ask about their previous experience handling such cases, fees, and success rates. A DUI defense attorney can often get the charges dismissed or reduced, so experience is crucial.
  • Discuss options, such as negotiating a plea deal or pleading guilty/not guilty. The lawyer evaluates all the arrest details to determine the best strategy.
  • Don't pick the cheapest option. Fees are a necessary factor to consider, but a DUI conviction often has long-term and serious consequences. Choosing a lawyer with a record of success and a strong reputation is crucial.

Act Quickly

The sooner one hires an attorney, the more time they will have to investigate the DUI offense case and build a defense. An officer's memory of the event fades over time, video and audio evidence can go missing, and witnesses are harder to locate. Consider these tips:

  • Have the attorney request a copy of the video footage, breathalyzer results, and the police report as soon as possible.
  • Ask about filing motions to dismiss the charges or suppress evidence if there were any issues with how the police handled the arrest. The earlier the lawyer does this, the better.

A skilled DUI defense attorney is the best shot a person has for overcoming these types of charges. Take action quickly by researching and choosing an experienced lawyer who will fight in the courtroom if necessary. The outcome of the case will depend on it.

Steps to Take When Fighting a DUI Charge in Court

Here are the steps an offender should take to ensure they cover their bases:

1. Request the DMV Hearing

Within 10 days of the arrest, the person should request a hearing with the DMV to contest the driver's license suspension. Not acting quickly can be problematic.

At the hearing, the person will present evidence that shows they weren't impaired. They're allowed to bring documentation, witnesses, and experts to support the case. If the DMV decides in their favor, it overturns the restricted license clause.

2. Hire an Attorney

The person shouldn't go to court alone. They need an attorney specializing in DUI cases to review the arrest details, look for a lack of probable cause, check for procedural errors, and build a strong defense strategy.

3. Challenge Any Evidence

DUI Offenders should carefully examine the evidence against them, reviewing blood tests and breathalyzer results, dash cam footage, and officer observations.

Attorneys often look for mistakes in how the police administered the chemical test and stored/gathered the proof. If the cops didn't follow the right procedures, the court could throw out all or some of the evidence. The offender can also independently recheck any urine or blood samples to determine if there were inconsistencies.

4. Question the Police Officer

Usually, attorneys will also cross-examine the arresting officer, challenging their testimony at the trial. They check for inconsistencies in the cop's observations or statements that don't prove the defendant was impaired. Ultimately, the goal here is to raise a reasonable doubt to weaken the prosecution's case.

A knowledgeable attorney can build a strong defense and give the defendant a fighting chance to avoid a conviction. If that's impossible, they might get penalties reduced, such as less or no jail time, fewer fines, and no license suspension.

Consequences of a First DUI Conviction in California

Typically, a first-time DUI conviction in California comes with some life-changing consequences, including penalty assessments.

The defendant should prepare to face DUI penalties, a damaged driving record, and higher insurance rates.

What is the punishment for a first DUI in California? One could face:

Legal Penalties for a First-time DUI Offense

Generally, the offender will face DUI classes, fines, potential jail time, a restricted license, and other penalty assessments.

Driving Record Damages

A first-offense DUI stays on the person's driving record for 10 years. Insurance companies can also see it for up to five years. That makes the driver high-risk, so it might be wise to switch insurers.

SR-22 Insurance Requirement

Usually, the offender will have to get SR-22 insurance for three years after the DUI. This raises insurance rates, which can increase up to 100 percent.

However, the certificate shows that they have the state-mandated liability insurance required.

Insurance companies electronically record coverage, and send it to the DMV. The Department of Motor Vehicles will often suspend the person's driver's license if it doesn't receive the proof.

Alternative Programs

California courts of appeal have held that misdemeanor diversion under Penal Code 1001.95 is generally not available for DUI. Military diversion under Penal Code 1001.80 may be a possible exception for current and former members of the military. A "wet reckless" (Vehicle Code 23103.5) is not a program. It is a plea bargain in which the DUI charge is reduced to reckless driving involving alcohol, and it counts as a prior if the person gets another DUI.

Overall, a DUI in California is serious, whether it's the first or third. This is a chance to focus on safe driving habits to prevent more financial and legal ramifications.

Ignition Interlock Device

After a first-offense DUI, an ignition interlock device is usually optional. A driver can choose to install one for 6 months to get driving privileges back, unless the court orders it. That tests their blood alcohol content before driving.

Speak to a California DUI Lawyer Today

Speak to a California DUI Lawyer Today

With so many potential DUI penalties, it's crucial to hire a lawyer as soon as possible. Generally, you should do this immediately after being arrested or once you're let out of custody.

If you're facing a DUI in California, it's important to contact Goss Law. Call to speak to someone about your case today!

Need help with a case in Sacramento? Read about my DUI defense work, or tell me what happened.

Goss LawGoss Law is the Sacramento criminal defense practice of attorney Blair Goss. About Blair

This post is general information about California law, not legal advice about your situation. Laws change, and every case is different. For advice about your case, talk to a lawyer.

Tell Me What Happened

Whose case is this?

Sending this doesn’t make me your lawyer, but I keep what you tell me confidential.

Call (916) 313-3133
Call now Message