
Many people like the standard window tinting style. If it's done at the factory, law enforcement authorities won't likely have an issue with it. However, there are certain rules in place, and it's important for everyone to understand them.
According to California law, a vehicle's front-side windows and windshield must meet the legal requirements where window tinting is concerned. Typically, this means:
- A 4- to 5-inch strip of non-reflective tint is all that's allowed.
- Front-side windows must let in at least 70 percent of light transmission.
- If the rear windows are tinted, the driver must have dual-side mirrors installed on the vehicle.
The window tint law is there to protect all drivers and cover various types of vehicles. Whether driving a van, sedan, SUV, or truck, everyone must adhere to the rules. Otherwise, they could be fined or ticketed and may be required to remove the illegal tint. Goss Law can also advise on questions like What is the legal limit for alcohol in California?

Common Questions Regarding the California Window Tint Law
People are often confused about California's window tint laws. The most common questions include:
- What is the legal tint limit in California?
- What's the deepest tint darkness allowed in California?
- Can one get a medical exemption from the law?
- Are there different rules in place for the windshield and rear window?
This blog will help to answer those questions and many others.
Appropriate Darkness for Window Tinting (Measured in Visible Light Transmission Percentages)
California tinting laws are very specific and determine the percentage of reflection and window tint darkness an automobile can have. The amount of light passing through the vehicle's window is measured using a VLT (Visible Light Transmission) percentage, which refers to how much sunshine can go through the film and glass.
Overall, the California window tint laws in place for 2024 require the front-side windows and windshield to have a 70 percent VLT.
However, the car window tinting laws in California have no restrictions on how dark the tint for the back and rear windows can be. Still, it's important to note that if a rear window of a vehicle has been tinted, it must have dual-side mirrors.
Here's a breakdown of the rules:
- The back-side windows can have any percentage of tint.
- Front-side windows must allow at least 70 percent light transmission.
- The rear windows can have any amount of tint.
- A non-reflective tint is suitable for the windshield, but only along the top 4 to 5 inches.
- The windshield tint cannot go any farther down the windscreen.
- The reflectivity of the tinted windows can't be more than a standard window.
- Other restrictions can be put in place. For example, amber, red, and blue tint colors aren't allowed. Likewise, if the back windows are tinted, dual-side mirrors are required.
- Window reflection rules can be slightly different for SUVs, vans, and other non-passenger vehicles.
Tint Colors and Window Tint Reflection
Some vehicle owners choose to have a tinting film installed to reflect incoming light and reduce heat and glare. To comply with state law, it cannot produce more window tint reflection than what's found on a standard window. Goss Law can also help with questions such as, What is the legal abortion limit in California?
Previously, California drivers used amber, red, and silver tints on their automobiles to offer more privacy. However, current rules prohibit any color-altering film, whether it's on the rear window or elsewhere.
Do California Window Tinting Laws Offer a Medical Exemption?
There is a limited medical exemption. There is no state application. Instead, the driver or a front-seat passenger must have a signed letter from a doctor or optometrist, kept in the vehicle (Vehicle Code 26708).
The exemption covers sun screening devices on the side windows next to the front seat. For example, one might have to shield their eyes from the sun. These devices cannot be used during darkness.
Many times, people simply buy vehicles with factory-tinted windows. However, they must still meet the requirements of California's tint darkness rules.
Applying for a California Window Tint Exemption
To use the exemption in California, a licensed physician and surgeon must sign a letter certifying that the person must be shaded from the sun due to a medical condition, or a licensed optometrist must certify a visual condition that requires shading. The letter must be kept in the vehicle.
The Requirement of a Window Film Certificate
Having dual-side mirrors to enjoy tinting on the rear window is nice. However, drivers must get a signed certificate from the tint-installing company or manufacturer that states its VLT percentage. This must show the address and name of the provider or installation business.
The certificate should remain in the vehicle at all times. Likewise, film installation companies must provide a sticker with their address and name so that the driver can attach it in a visible area.
Avoiding a Ticket for Tinting on Front-side Windows
It's important for drivers to avoid front window tint tickets. Whether or not they have a medical condition, it's crucial to ensure that the film meets the VLT percentage rules.
Ultimately, California requires that all aftermarket film products installed on the front-side windows let in 88 percent of visible light. If there are already factory-tinted windows, the minimum VLT is 70 percent. For more information, a criminal defense lawyer in Sacramento may be able to help.
What Does the California Window Tint Law Prohibit?
California laws on window tinting prohibit drivers and automobile owners from putting objects or materials on the side/rear windows and windshields if it might obstruct the person's view. Police officers are strict when enforcing the statute. Likewise, cars/trucks cannot have stickers or other decorations on the glass, except in specific places the law allows, such as small areas in the lower corners of the windshield and rear window.
Potential Penalties for Non-compliance of California Tint Laws
If a driver is stopped for not complying with the window tinting laws in place, the police officer can issue a citation for an infraction, starting with the first violation. Often it is a correctable violation, known as a "fix-it ticket." The driver removes the illegal tint, gets proof of correction, and pays a $25 proof-of-correction fee (Vehicle Code 40611). If it is not corrected, or if the ticket is not correctable, the full fine with assessments can be about $197.

Hire Goss Law for Assistance with Window Tint Tickets
While window tinting adds style and sophistication to the vehicle, it's crucial to understand the law.
If one has added a darker film to a standard window without consulting the California window tint rules, they could be in violation of the law. It's important to work with an attorney who understands the situation. Goss Law, found in Sacramento, CA, can assist. Call to request a free consultation today.
Need help with a case in Sacramento? Read about my criminal defense work, or tell me what happened.
This post is general information about California law, not legal advice about your situation. Laws change, and every case is different. For advice about your case, talk to a lawyer.
